You can use your smart phone to browse stories in the comfort of your hand. Simply browse this site on your smart phone.

    Using an RSS Reader you can access most recent stories and other feeds posted on this network.

    SNetwork Recent Stories

2012 Premier’s Awards For Excellence In The Arts

by NationTalk on June 8, 2012719 Views

June 7, 2012

McGuinty Government Recognizes Outstanding Artists and Arts Organizations

Ontario honoured its most outstanding artists and arts organizations today at the 2012 Premier’s Awards for Excellence in the Arts.

The annual awards honour well-established artists, emerging artists and arts organizations across Ontario.

The Individual Artist Award was won by Dr. Shirley Cheechoo, a respected visual artist as well as an award-winning playwright, actor, director and filmmaker. Dr. Cheechoo is the first Aboriginal filmmaker in Canada to direct, produce, write and act in an award-winning dramatic feature film, Bearwalker.The Arts Organization Award honoured Tarragon Theatre. For over forty years Tarragon Theatre has excelled as Ontario’s pre-eminent producer and developer of leading edge and thought-provoking Canadian Theatre both nationally and on the world stage.

The Premier’s Award for New or Emerging Individual Talent, as selected by this year’s winning individual artist, recognized Heather Manitowabi, a self- taught Odawa-Ojibway visual artist from the Wikwemikong Unceded Indian Reserve.

Recognizing Ontario’s artists and investing in talent is part of the McGuinty government’s plan to create jobs, grow the economy and provide better opportunities for Ontarians.


> Ontario is home to almost 57,000 professional artists.
The Premier’s Awards for Excellence in the Arts are administered by the Ontario Arts Council.
> The arts and culture sector is one of Ontario’s fastest growing. It generates almost $20 billion annually for Ontario’s economy.
> Creative industries account for nearly 206,000 jobs in our province.


> Read more about this year’s winners and finalists
> Nominations for the 2013 Premier’s Awards are now open. Learn how to submit your nomination.


Denelle Balfour
Communications Branch

Rob Foote
Minister’s Office


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More