APTN Announces Changes To Board Of Directors

by NationTalk on April 3, 20071648 Views

March 30, 2007 – APTN (Aboriginal Peoples Television Network) is pleased to announce recent changes to its Board of Directors for 2007. APTN welcomes both new and returning members of the 21-seat Board which convened in Winnipeg for its first quarterly meeting March 11, 2007.

Board elections for the current term were held during the APTN Annual General Meeting, December 3, 2006 in Winnipeg. Former APTN Vice-Chairperson and Member-appointed NNBY Director Shirley Adamson was elected APTN Chairperson. Adamson replaced outgoing Chairperson Judy Gingell, who served on the APTN Board of Directors since 2001.At the March meeting, elections were held for the remainder of the Executive positions, those being the Vice-Chairperson, the Treasurer and the Secretary. The results of those elections, as well as the composition of the current Board, are outlined below:

Shirley Adamson, APTN Chairperson/Ex-Officio, Director of the Board, Member Appointed, NNBY

Daniel Vandal, Vice Chairperson, Director at large, Manitoba Region

Donna Wuttunee, Treasurer, Director at large, Alberta Region

Deborah Ann Charles, Secretary, Director of the Board, Member Appointed, MBC

Madeleine Adams, Governance Committee Chairperson, Director of the Board, Member Appointed, IBC

Christine Chisel, Director of the Board, Member Appointed, WNCS

David McLeod, Director of the Board, Member Appointed, NCI

Joachim Bonnetrouge, Director of the Board, Member Appointed, NCS NWT

Sammy Duncan, Director of the Board, Member Appointed, TNI

Sarah Beaulne, Director of the Board, Member Appointed, KSB

Topsy Cockney, Director of the Board, Member Appointed, ICS

Rosina Holwell, Director of the Board, Member Appointed, OKS

Allan Adam, Director at large, Saskatchewan Region

Brian Smith, Director at large, Nova Scotia Region

Chris Robertson, Director at large, British Columbia Region

Donna Noonan, Director at large, Quebec Region

Kerry Assiniwe, Director at large, Ontario Region

Linda Simon, Director at large, New Brunswick Region

Michelle Baikie, Director at large, Newfoundland/Labrador Region

Charlie Sark, Director at large, PEI Region

Bert Crowfoot, Director at large representing the remaining 4 Northern Native Broadcast Access Program (NNBAP) societies without permanent seats on the Board.

APTN is governed by a 21-member Board of Directors representing all regions of Canada and is comprised of Aboriginal Peoples. The Board sets policy and direction for the network and guides its mission to open a window on the reality of the lives, cultures, languages and history of Aboriginal Peoples in Canada.

About APTN:
September 1, 2006 marked the seven-year anniversary of the launch of the first national Aboriginal television network in the world with programming by, for and about Aboriginal Peoples to share with all Canadians and viewers around the world. APTN is available in over 10 million Canadian households and commercial establishments with cable, direct-to-home satellite (DTH), telco-delivered and fixed wireless television service providers. APTN does not receive government funding for operations but generates revenue through subscriber fees, advertising sales and strategic partnerships. APTN broadcasts programming with 56% offered in English, 16% in French and 28% in Aboriginal languages. For program schedule or for more information, please contact APTN at (204) 947-9331 or toll-free at 1-888-278-8862, or visit the website at www.aptn.ca.

Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More