Arts & Heritage Awards Nominees Celebrated

HDownload Audio

by aanationtalk on December 18, 2012924 Views

December 13, 2012 The achievements and contributions of several local artists, cultural organizations and businesses were celebrated at the City of Thunder Bay’s Arts & Heritage Awards on Thursday evening at Magnus Theatre. Awards were presented to 10 distinguished nominees to recognize their achievements in their field or support of Thunder Bay’s cultural sector. 

Nominees represented Thunder Bay’s cultural spectrum from individual artists, writers and historians to cultural business, educators, and supporters. Awards varied from cash prizes of $500-$1,000 to original works of art by regional artists Linda Brown, Christian Chapman, Christopher Stones and Klaus Rossler.

“There are wonderfully dedicated, talented and supportive people keeping Thunder Bay’s cultural scene thriving and growing,” said Leah Bayly, Supervisor of Cultural Services & Events – Recreation & Culture Division.  “Every year we see new nominees and are consistently surprised at how much each has achieved in their field or contributed to making Thunder Bay a culturally rich place to be. In some cases, these individuals are receiving national or international recognition for their work. These awards are one small way of showing that their home community also recognizes and is proud of their achievements.” 

Award winners included: 
• Jean E. Pendziwol – Performing & Media Arts 
• Stephanie Siemieniuk  – Visual Arts
• Peter Raffo  – Heritage
• CILU – LU Radio – Cultural Organization
• Kate-Lynn Kramer – Emerging Youth Artist
• Nicole Armstrong – Cultural Educator
• Cathy Paroschy-Harris – Cultural Supporter
• The Walleye Magazine – Cultural Business 
• The Walleye Magazine – Small Business
• CIBC Thunder Bay – Large Business.

A list of all nominees and award winners can be viewed at

– 30 –


Leah Bayly, Supervisor – Recreation & Culture, 625-2146 or
Doug Henry, Events Supervisor 625-2487 or


December 13, 2012 –  Categories, nominees and winners:

 Performing & Media Arts  
• Jean E. Pendziwol *winner
• Michael Christie
• Kelly Saxberg & Ron Harpelle
• Consortium Aurora Borealis

Visual Arts
• Stephanie Siemieniuk * winner
• Judy Czank-Mayor
• Rebecca Pugh

• Peter Raffo * winner
• Elliot Cromarty
• Windrose – Liana & Rob Frenette
• Paterson Building – TBT Engineering – Liana & Rob Frenette

• CILU – LU Radio * winner

Emerging Youth Artist
• Kate-Lynn Kramer * winner

Cultural Educator
• Nicole Armstrong * winner
• Lora Northway

Cultural Supporter
• Cathy Paroschy-Harris * winner
• Biljana Baker
• Gloria Cyr

Cultural Business
• The Walleye Magazine * winner

Small Business

• The Walleye Magazine * winner

Large Business
• CIBC Thunder Bay * winner


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More