You can use your smart phone to browse stories in the comfort of your hand. Simply browse this site on your smart phone.

    Using an RSS Reader you can access most recent stories and other feeds posted on this network.

    SNetwork Recent Stories

Elxn Ontario Prominents – CP

by ahnationtalk on June 8, 2018110 Views

Source: The Canadian Press – Broadcast wire
Jun 7, 2018 

The Canadian Press list by parties of elected and defeated prominent candidates.

Ontario (124 members)

Ontario Liberal Party

Charles Fox, former Grand Chief of Nishnawbe-Aski Nation, defeated in Algoma-Manitoulin by Michael Mantha (NDP).

Harinder K. Malhi, status of women minister, trailing in Brampton North; behind Kevin Yarde (NDP).

Eleanor McMahon, treasury board president, defeated in Burlington by Jane McKenna (PC).

Kathryn McGarry, transportation minister, trailing in Cambridge; behind Belinda Karahalios (PC).

Michael Coteau, community and social services minister, children and youth services minister, leading in Don Valley East; ahead of Denzil Minnan-Wong (PC), deputy mayor of Toronto.

Kathleen Wynne, Premier, Liberal party leader, leading in Don Valley West.

Peter Milczyn, housing minister, trailing in Etobicoke-Lakeshore; behind Christine Hogarth (PC).

Daiene Vernile, tourism, culture and sport minister, trailing in Kitchener Centre; behind Laura Mae Lindo (NDP).

Helena Jaczek, health minister, defeated in Markham-Stouffville by Paul Calandra (PC).

Indira Naidoo-Harris, education minister, trailing in Milton; behind Parm Gill (PC).

Dipika Damerla, seniors affairs minister, trailing in Mississauga East-Cooksville; behind Kaleed Rasheed (PC).

Charles Sousa, finance minister, trailing in
Mississauga-Lakeshore; behind Rudy Cuzzetto (PC).

Chris Ballard, environment minister, defeated in Newmarket-Aurora by Christine Elliott (PC), former PC leadership hopeful.

Kevin Flynn, labour minister, trailing in Oakville; behind Stephen Crawford (PC).

Marie-France Lalonde, community safety and correctional services minister, leading in Orleans.

Yasir Naqvi, attorney general, defeated in Ottawa Centre by Joel Harden (NDP).

Nathalie Des Rosiers, natural resources and forestry minister, leading in Ottawa-Vanier; ahead of Lyra Evans (NDP), first transgender person to represent a major party in an Ontario election.

Bob Chiarelli, infrastructure minister, former mayor of Ottawa, trailing in Ottawa West-Nepean; behind Chandra Pasma (NDP).

Jeff Leal, agriculture minister, trailing in
Peterborough-Kawartha; behind Dave Smith (PC).

Reza Moridi, research, innovation and science minister, trailing in Richmond Hill; behind Daisy Wai (PC).

Jim Bradley, longest current serving member of the legislature, trailing in St. Catharines; behind Jennie Stevens (NDP).

Soo Wong, first female Chinese-Canadian to be elected to the Ontario legislature, defeated in Scarborough-Agincourt by Aris Babikian (PC).

Mitzie Hunter, advanced education minister, leading in Scarborough-Guildwood.

Glenn Thibeault, energy minister, defeated in Sudbury by Jamie West (NDP).

Bill Mauro, municipal affairs minister, leading in Thunder Bay-Atikokan.

Michael Gravelle, northern development and mines minister, leading in Thunder Bay-Superior North.

Steven Del Duca, economic development minister, defeated in Vaughan-Woodbridge by Michael Tibollo (PC).

David Zimmer, Indigenous relations and reconciliations minister, trailing in Willowdale; behind Stan Cho (PC).

Progressive Conservative Party of Ontario

Rod Phillips, former head of OLG and Postmedia, leading in Ajax.

Denzil Minnan-Wong, deputy mayor of Toronto, trailing in Don Valley East; behind Michael Coteau (LIB), community and social services minister, children and youth services minister.

Doug Ford, PC party leader, elected in Etobicoke North.

Mike Harris, son of former PC premier Mike Harris, leading in Kitchener-Conestoga.

Christine Elliott, former PC leadership hopeful, elected in Newmarket-Aurora; defeated Chris Ballard (LIB), environment minister.

Sam Oosterhoff, Became youngest MPP at age 19 last year, elected in Niagara West.

Vic Fedeli, interim PC leader after Patrick Brown’s resignation, leading in Nipissing.

Troy Crowder, former NHL hockey player, defeated in Sudbury by Jamie West (NDP).

New Democratic Party of Ontario

Gurratan Singh, Jagmeet Singh’s brother, elected in Brampton East.

Andrea Horwath, NDP party leader, elected in Hamilton Centre.

Lyra Evans, first transgender person to represent a major party in an Ontario election, trailing in Ottawa-Vanier; behind Nathalie Des Rosiers (LIB), natural resources and forestry minister.

Green Party of Ontario

Mike Schreiner, Green party leader, elected in Guelph.

Pauper Party of Ontario

John Turmel, holds Guinness World Records for most elections contested and lost, trailing in Brantford-Brant; behind Will Bouma (PC).

(The Canadian Press)


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More