Governor General to invest 43 recipients into the Order of Canada

by NationTalk on April 8, 20082542 Views

April 7, 2008

OTTAWA—Her Excellency the Right Honourable Michaëlle Jean, Governor General of Canada, will preside over the 102nd Order of Canada investiture ceremony at Rideau Hall, on Friday, April 11, 2008, at 10:30 a.m.The Order of Canada, our country’s highest civilian honour, was created in 1967, during Canada’s centennial year, to recognize a lifetime of outstanding achievement, dedication to community and service to the nation. Over the last 40 years, more than 5 000 people from all sectors of society have been invested into the Order.

The Governor General, who is Chancellor and Principal Companion of the Order, will bestow the honour on two companions, 11 officers and 30 members.


A media schedule for the investiture ceremony (Annex A), a list of recipients with citations (Annex B) and a backgrounder (Annex C) are attached. Media interested in covering this event and interviewing recipients are asked to contact the Rideau Hall Press Office.

Media Information
Marie-Paule Thorn / Marie-Eve Létourneau
Rideau Hall Press Office
613-993-2569 / 613-998-0287 /

Members of the media are asked to observe the following schedule:
10:00 a.m.: Media arrive at Rideau Hall
10:30 a.m.: Ceremony begins
Entrance of Their Excellencies
The Governor General speaks
The Governor General presents the insignia (members first, followed by officers and companions)
Noon: Media interviews with recipients



Jean-Baptiste (John) Arcand, C.M.
Saskatoon, Sask.

Tony Aspler, C.M.
Toronto, Ont.

Hélène-Andrée Bizier, C.M.
Montréal, Que.

Chrystine Brouillet, C.M.
Montréal, Que.

Elizabeth (Libby) Burnham, C.M.
Toronto, Ont.

Jean C. Chiasson, C.M.
Dieppe, N.B.

Joan Craig, C.M.
Halifax, N.S.

Mary Dawson, C.M.
Ottawa, Ont.

Armand de Mestral, C.M.
Westmount, Que.

Robert Doyle, C.M.
Stratford, Ont.

William Fitzgerald, C.M.
St. Anthony, N.L.

J. Barry French, C.M.
Oakville, Ont.

Muriel Gold, C.M.
Westmount, Que.

Charlotte Gray, C.M.
Ottawa, Ont.

L’honorable Lynda Haverstock, C.M., S.O.M.
Regina, Sask.

Zbigniew Kabata, C.M.
Nanaimo, B.C.

Craig Kielburger, C.M., M.S.M.
Toronto, Ont.

Douglas MacPhee, C.M.
New Waterford, N.S.

L’honorable René J. Marin, C.M., O.M.M., O.Ont., C.D.
Ottawa, Ont.

Robert R. McEwen, C.M.
Toronto, Ont.

Thomas W. Noseworthy, C.M.
Calgary, Alta.

Lola Rasminsky, C.M.
Toronto, Ont.

Leon Rooke, C.M.
Toronto, Ont.

Yoshio Senda, C.M.
Lethbridge, Alta.

Margaret Smith, C.M.
North Bay, Ont.

T. Kenneth Thorlakson, C.M.
Winnipeg, Man.

Jeffrey Turnbull, C.M.
Ottawa, Ont.

Jim Vallance, C.M.
Vancouver, B.C.

Howard White, C.M., O.B.C.
Madeira Park, B.C.

Clara Will, C.M.
Toronto, Ont.


Marie Chouinard, O.C.
Montréal, Que.

Tom Cochrane, O.C.
Oakville, Ont.

Paul Corkum, O.C.
Ottawa, Ont.

Eric Hoskins, O.C., M.S.C.
Toronto, Ont.

Donat Lacroix, O.C.
Caraquet, N.B.

Edward A. Lyons, O.C.
Winnipeg, Man.

Alistair MacLeod, O.C.
Windsor, Ont.

Arthur B. McDonald, O.C.
Kingston, Ont.

Derek Oland, O.C.
Saint John, N.B.

Miles Richardson, O.C.
Vancouver, B.C.

Jane Stewart, O.C.
Montréal, Que.


Purdy Crawford, C.C.
This is a promotion within the Order
Toronto, Ont.

L’honorable Frank Iacobucci, C.C.
Toronto, Ont.



Jean-Baptiste (John) Arcand, C.M.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

John Arcand is a master of traditional Métis fiddling and is a musical ambassador for his culture. He has also been a driving force behind the preservation of unrecorded Métis tunes. He has applied his skills as a performer and educator to promoting and popularizing this unique musical heritage. Through endeavours such as the John Arcand Fiddle Fest, and as a representative of Western Canada at the Fiddles of the World Conference, he has inspired other fiddlers to embrace this art form and has helped to bring it to light for both Canada and the world.

The Honourable Lynda Haverstock, C.M., S.O.M.
Regina, Saskatchewan

With her natural grace and dynamic personality, Lynda Haverstock has connected with and inspired the people of Saskatchewan for decades. As lieutenant-governor, she was renowned for her patronage of the arts and her strong support for First Nations, veterans rights, education and literacy. In addition to being the first woman to lead a political party in her province, she has made equally important contributions as a psychologist. Through her pioneering studies on farm families in crisis, she developed programs to help farmers deal with the devastation of losing intergenerational farms and their way of life. Now president and CEO of Tourism Saskatchewan, she continues to be an enthusiastic ambassador for her province.

Miles Richardson, O.C.
Skidegate, Haida Gwaii, British Columbia

A former president of the Council of the Haida Nation, Miles Richardson has been a champion of Aboriginal title and rights for over 30 years. Through his political activism and his involvement with the B.C. Claims Task Force, the First Nations Summit Task Group and the B.C. Treaty Commission, he has helped to create a functional process for the reconciliation of Aboriginal and Crown titles. His efforts have led to landmark decisions, such as the creation of the Gwaii Haanas Haida Heritage Site and National Park Reserve, the first of its kind in Canada. He is also an advocate of sustainability and a founding member of the David Suzuki Foundation. His dedication has benefited not only the Haida nation, but Canada as a whole.

>>VISIT HERE to view all recipent’s descriptions.

Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More