Grand Chief Arlen Dumas and the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs Offer Congratulations to Federal Liberals on Their Re-election

by ahnationtalk on October 22, 2019187 Views

Treaty One Territory, Manitoba_Grand Chief Arlen Dumas and the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs offer congratulations to Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and the federal Liberal Party on winning a minority government yesterday evening.

Liberals have won 153 seats, not meeting 170-seat threshold needed for a majority government as polls were counted Monday night. Conservatives won 122 seats, up from 99 in the 2015 election.

“We look forward to continuing to work together on the many important issues to First Nations leadership and citizens in Manitoba. While we have had some challenges, we have made progress in significant areas and in building a good working relationship with the Liberal government,” said Grand Chief Dumas.

“Now that we have a clear picture of what the political landscape will be, working together is more important now than ever. Let me be clear, today we still have work to do. First Nations in Manitoba have critical needs in the areas of emergency management, health, housing, safe drinking water, and access to economic development opportunities. We look forward to working with this government on making progress on these and many other important issues.”

Notable candidates who won their seats include Leah Gazan, NDP – Winnipeg Centre and the re-election of Dan Vandal, Liberal – Saint Boniface-Saint Vital. We also want to acknowledge Cyara Bird, Kyle Mason, Judy Klassen and Robert Falcon Ouellette for their run for office. The AMC wishes them all much success.


For more information, please contact:

Andrew Thunder

Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs


Phone: (204) 987-4139

About the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs

The AMC was formed in 1988 by the Chiefs in Manitoba to advocate on issues that commonly affect First Nations in Manitoba. AMC is an authorized representative of 62 of the 63 First Nations in Manitoba with a

total of more than 151,000 First Nation citizens in the province, accounting for approximately 12 per cent of the provincial population. AMC represents a diversity of Anishinaabe (Ojibway), Nehetho / Ininew (Cree), Anishininew (Ojibwe-Cree), Denesuline (Dene) and Dakota Oyate (Dakota) people.


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More