Honouring Aboriginal Students

by NationTalk on December 22, 20081897 Views

Friday, December 19, 2008

46 of 75 recipients of the Helen Betty Osborne Memorial Foundation Awards were given to University of Manitoba Aboriginal students.

The Helen Betty Osborne Memorial Foundation makes it possible for Aboriginal post-secondary students to complete their chosen field of study through the provision of financial bursaries bestowed annually to applicants selected by the independent adjudication panel. The amount of the bursary can range from $1,500 to $5,000.Congratulations to our 2008 recipients:

Aboriginal & Northern Affairs Engineering Award:

Marc Robert (Electrical Engineering)
Moe Yusim (Biosystems Engineering)
Daniel Cheechoo (Mechanical Engineering)
Brock Campbell (Civil Engineering)

Foundation Award:

Melanie Boulette (Bachelor of Social Work)
Brianne Lagimodiere (Mechanical Engineering)
Mandy Buss (Doctor of Medicine)
Jennifer Soldier (Bachelor of Arts)
Michael Holliday (Mechanical Engineering)
Ashley-Faye Blais (Doctor of Medicine)
Tracey Parenteau (Bachelor of Social Work)
Garret Klus (Bachelor of Science)
Jeremie Wookey (Bachelor of Arts)
Travis Smith (Bachelor of Science)
Cristen Crate (Bachelor of Education)
Aimee Menard (Bachelor of Science)
Trisha Goulet (Bachelor of Law)
Debbie Fisher (Bachelor of Science)
Neepikan Hunt (Bachelor of Nursing)
Jerilyn Ducharme (Bachelor of Education)
Kerry Spence (Human Nutritional Science)
Danielle Bonner (Bachelor of Nursing)
Rachel Bach (Bachelor of Arts – Honours)
Jeffrey St. Paul (Civil Engineering)
Ian Smith (Bachelor of Engineering)
Barbara Ednie (Bachelor of Arts)
Fernanda McNabb (Business Administration)
Tyne Campbell (Bachelor of Science)
Nadine Perrault-McLeod (Bachelor of Social Work)
Jennifer Lavallee (Bachelor of Science)
Tracy Sloan (Dental Hygiene)
Kaitlen Hogue (Bachelor of Science)
Danielle Gamache (Bachelor of Science Physiotherapy)
Linda Dettanikkeaze-Patterson (Bachelor of Social Work)
Corey Simpson (Bachelor of Civil Engineering)

Manitoba Public Insurance Award:

Kealy Murray (Bachelor of Nursing)
Amy Pouliot (Bachelor of Science)
Diana Marie Dreaver (Bachelor of Nursing)

The Helen Betty Osborne Memorial Foundation, created in her memory as a fitting tribute to her life, provides financial assistance to Aboriginal persons enrolled in post-secondary studies in Manitoba. The Foundation also recognizes deserving students who are making a difference in eliminating these barriers of racism, sexism and indifference in our society.

For more information, contact:
Chris Reid
Homepage Coordinator
Public Affairs
Phone: (204) 474-8744

Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More