You can use your smart phone to browse stories in the comfort of your hand. Simply browse this site on your smart phone.

    Using an RSS Reader you can access most recent stories and other feeds posted on this network.

    SNetwork Recent Stories

Honouring Excellence and Achievement at Spring Convocation – University of Winnipeg

by pmnationtalk on May 17, 2018117 Views

May 15, 2018

WINNIPEG, MB – The University of Winnipeg is pleased to highlight eight exceptional members of the UWinnipeg community at the upcoming Spring Convocation celebration, which will take place on June 14 and 15. Personifying excellence and achievement, the eight individuals to receive commendation are Linda Dietrick, Beverly Fehr, Colin Goff, Tanis Kolisnyk, Jeremy Leathers, Inga Johnson Mychasiw, Ken McCluskey, and Shannon Sampert.

“UWinnipeg is proud to recognize these dedicated members of our UWinnipeg community for their continuous commitment and service, which have strengthened the fabric of our institution,” said Dr. Annette Trimbee, UWinnipeg President and Vice-Chancellor. “Their expertise and exceptional achievements impact our reputation for academic excellence, teaching, and community inclusion.”

Spring 2018 Honourees:

Dr. Colin Goff: Clifford J. Robson Memorial Award for Excellence in Teaching
Throughout Goff’s 27-year teaching career in sociology, he has nurtured students, faculty, and visiting lecturers — and is known for creating a warm, lively, and intellectually engaging space where genuine learning flourishes. He has inspired several generations of students by challenging them to explore important theoretical questions with originality and creativity. He has established innovative new courses that reflect current issues that taps into students’ yearning to make a difference in the world by connecting learning goals to social justice issues.

Dr. Beverly Fehr: Erica and Arnold Rogers Award for Excellence in Research and Scholarship
Fehr is a well-regarded professor and mentor who possesses a highly impressive record in scholarship. Since graduating from UWinnipeg with the Robson Gold Medal for highest performance in honours psychology, she has continued her trajectory in research excellence. She is an eminent social psychologist with special expertise in the sub-area of close/interpersonal relationships.

Inga Johnson Mychasiw: Robin H. Farquhar Award for Excellence in Contributing to Self-Governance
As the University’s Director of Student Support Services, Johnson Mychasiw manages a complex and diverse area that directly impacts how students experience their time at UWinnipeg. Johnson Mychasiw genuinely cares and creates a welcoming space for all students so they may achieve academic and personal success, and she does so with a calm, purposeful confidence that has earned her both respect and loyalty. From orientation to advising, and from campus wellness to graduation, Johnson Mychasiw plays a role in a student’s career at UWinnipeg from start to finish.

Dr. Ken McCluskey: Marsha Hanen Award for Creating Community Awareness
McCluskey has made exceptional contributions to the field of education locally, nationally, and internationally. As professor and Dean of the Faculty of Education at UWinnipeg, he has devoted his career to finding ways of reducing the psychological, situational, and institutional barriers that prevent many learners from achieving their full potential. Under his leadership, the UWinnipeg team dedicated to discovering these “Lost Prizes” has inspired many around the world.

Dr. Shannon Sampert: Marsha Hanen Award for Creating Community Awareness
Sampert is a political analyst and media specialist who serves as a bridge between the academy and the community. As a former journalist, she explores the intersections of media, politics, and gender. In her role at The University of Winnipeg teaching politics and in the Masters in Public Administration program, she has inspired countless students to pursue advanced degrees in political science and related areas, or careers in politics and the civil service. In particular, Sampert is a sought-after media commentator during Canadian elections and for her expertise in areas such as political communications and sexism in politics. She is also director and editor-in-chief of the Evidence Network, working with academics from across Canada to ensure their voices are heard in major media outlets.

Jeremy Leathers: Sustainability Recognition Award
Leathers is an engaged student leader who has helped many of his peers turn their good ideas into concrete sustainability projects on campus. During his three-year term as president of the Geography and Environmental Students Association (GESA), Leathers was integral to expanding the group’s Eco-Grant program — an annual award aimed at supporting environmental stewardship on campus. He was also involved in the decisions to provide Eco-Grant funding for student-led projects to build rooftop produce gardens, develop a seed library, and establish a plastic bag recycling program on campus.

Rev. Tanis Kolisnyk: Stars of Spence Street Prize
Kolisnyk has helped thousands of students achieve their academic goals with thoughtful guidance and support. She has been an integral resource for students in the awards and financial aid office, the Aboriginal Student Services Centre (ASSC), and, currently, in the academic advising department. As a recruiter with ASSC, Kolisnyk went on no fewer than 500 trips to meet potential students in remote Manitoba communities. Whenever students chose to attend UWinnipeg, she went above and beyond to make sure they had the academic, personal, and cultural supports they needed to find success.

Dr. Linda Dietrick: Fellowship in United College
Dietrick is an internationally recognized German Studies scholar, researcher, and teacher who served The University of Winnipeg with distinction until her retirement in 2016. She is highly esteemed by her colleagues and all levels of administration for her commitment to the University and to her field of German Studies.

UWinnipeg is noted for academic excellence, Indigenous scholarship, environmental commitment, small class sizes and campus diversity. UWinnipeg is committed to improving access to post-secondary education for all individuals, especially those taking non-traditional paths to university. Find out more at

Naniece Ibrahim, Communications Officer, The University of Winnipeg
P: 204.988.7130, E:


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More