You can use your smart phone to browse stories in the comfort of your hand. Simply browse this site on your smart phone.

    Using an RSS Reader you can access most recent stories and other feeds posted on this network.

    SNetwork Recent Stories

Legislative Assembly to Welcome Youth Parliamentarians

by NationTalk on April 18, 2008783 Views

April 18, 2008

(Yellowknife, NT) April 18, 2008 – Nineteen high school students from across the North will take part in Youth Parliament 2008 beginning on Monday, April 21 at the Legislative Assembly building in Yellowknife. The students will participate in three days of meetings and briefings in preparation for the Youth Parliament Session during which they assume the roles of their respective Member of the Legislative Assembly.Speaker Paul Delorey says, “Youth Parliament has become a proud Northern tradition among high school students with nine years under our belt. It’s an excellent program that develops student awareness of Northern civics. At the same time, it builds on a students’ natural leadership skills and provides opportunity for personal growth in areas such as public speaking, writing, research, and interpersonal skills.”

Youth Parliament is one of several educational outreach programs offered at the Legislative Assembly through the Office of the Speaker. The program is aimed at educating Northern youth about consensus government emphasizing the Assembly, it’s function and history, and the important role the institution holds in the NWT.

The educational theme for Youth Parliament 2008 will focus on the Official Languages of the Northwest Territories and will include presentations from the Minister responsible for Official Languages and the NWT Languages Commissioner.

The participants, by constituency, are:

Deh Cho – Ms. Morgan Ranseth
Frame Lake – Ms. Amber O’Reilly
Great Slave – Ms. Jessica Curren
Hay River North – Ms. Frankie Ranger
Hay River South – Ms. Brieanne Taylor Glaicar
Inuvik Boot Lake – Ms. Brittany Lucas-Cockney
Inuvik Twin Lakes – Ms. Kandace Joy Sittichinli
Kam Lake – Ms. Hanna Wilson
Mackenzie Delta – Ms. Daralynn Kaye
Monfwi – Ms. Edie Erasmus
Nahendeh – Ms. Natalie Villeneuve
Nunakput – Ms. Chelsey Olifie
Range Lake – Mr. Tyler Comeau
Sahtu – Ms. Hilary Andre
Thebacha – Ms. Nicole K. Labine
Tu Nedhe – Mr. Lyndon Giroux
Weledeh – Mr. Zander Affleck
Yellowknife Centre – Mr. Nathan Bridges
Yellowknife South – Ms. Rochelle Hilderman

The Youth Parliament 2008 session is taking place on Thursday, April 24th, at 1:30 p.m. The public is invited to come watch the Session from the Public Gallery. Media are encouraged to arrange interviews with the students prior to the sitting day. For more information, please contact:

Danielle O’Neill
Public Affairs and Communications Advisor
Legislative Assembly of the NWT
Phone: 867-669-2218 or 1-800-661-0784
Email: danielle_o’

Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More