You can use your smart phone to browse stories in the comfort of your hand. Simply browse this site on your smart phone.

    Using an RSS Reader you can access most recent stories and other feeds posted on this network.

    SNetwork Recent Stories

Mount Royal University honours national leaders with University’s first Honorary Doctors of Laws and prepares to install new president and vice-chancellor, Dr. Timothy Rahilly

by ahnationtalk on May 23, 2019170 Views

May 23, 2019

Don Braid, Dawn Farrell, David Johnston, Ann McCaig and Margaret Southern will receive Honorary Doctors of Laws from Mount Royal University for their outstanding achievements and community service. Mount Royal celebrates the time-honoured tradition of convocation June 5, 6 and 7.

Mount Royal recently moved to Part 1 of the Post-Secondary Learning Act, enabling the University to grant honorary doctorates. As part of the celebrations, each recipient will address graduates and guests during separate convocation ceremonies. MRU will graduate more than 1,700 students this spring, with an estimated 1,200 returning to campus to participate in one of five ceremonies over three days.

Convocation will also feature the installation of Mount Royal’s tenth president and first vice-chancellor, Dr. Timothy Rahilly. The installation will include the Honourable Lois E. Mitchell, Lieutenant Governor of Alberta conducting the oath of office and presidential robing on Wednesday, June 5. Presidential robing conducted by other special guests will occur at the remaining four ceremonies.

Spring 2019 Honorary Doctorates:

Don Braid has been a political journalist since 1972 and a full-time political columnist since 1978. He has written columns for the Montreal Star, Montreal Gazette, Toronto Star, Edmonton Sun, Edmonton Journal and Calgary Sun. He became the Calgary Herald’s provincial and city columnist in 1987 and remains a trusted voice interpreting politics and government. Braid will be presented with an Honorary Doctor of Laws on Friday, June 7 at 10 a.m.

Dawn Farrell is an accomplished business and community leader in Calgary. With more than 30 years of experience in the electric energy industry, she is currently the president and chief executive officer of TransAlta Corporation. A strong advocate for Canadian business, Farrell serves as a director on the Conference Board of Canada and the Business Council of Canada. She will be presented with an Honorary Doctor of Laws on Wednesday, June 5 at 2 p.m.

David Johnston served as the Governor General of Canada from 2010 to 2017, the 28th since Canadian Confederation. He is also a revered academic, media personality and author. Johnston began his career as a professor before becoming a senior administrator at a number of post-secondary institutions. Johnston served on many task forces, commissions, boards and committees. He will be presented with an Honorary Doctor of Laws on Friday, June 7 at 2 p.m.

Ann McCaig is an advocate of advanced education, medical research, health care and youth development, and a passionate supporter of arts and culture. Many fundraising efforts have benefited from her leadership. McCaig is a member of the Order of Canada and the Alberta Order of Excellence, and was given the Blackfoot name ‘White Wolf Woman’ for her support of Indigenous Peoples. She will be presented with Honorary Doctor of Laws on Thursday, June 6 at 10 a.m.

Margaret E. Southern is best known for co-founding the esteemed Spruce Meadows with her late husband Ron. The facility is recognized as one of the finest competitive show jumping complexes in the world. Her passion for sport and recreation has benefited many. Southern has twice been named to the Order of Canada and is in both the Alberta and Canadian Sports Hall of Fame. She will be presented with an Honorary Doctor of Laws on Thursday, May 6 at 2 p.m.

For further information, please contact:

Peter Glenn, Senior Media Relations Officer
Media cell: 403.463.6930


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More