You can use your smart phone to browse stories in the comfort of your hand. Simply browse this site on your smart phone.

    Using an RSS Reader you can access most recent stories and other feeds posted on this network.

    SNetwork Recent Stories

NMAF announces the co-hosts and keynote speaker of the 40th Anniversary National Magazine Awards

by ahnationtalk on May 18, 2017153 Views

TORONTO, May 18, 2017- The NMAF is excited to announce that this year’s 40th anniversary National Magazine Awards gala, on May 26, will be co-hosted by three previous winners of the Foundation Award for Outstanding Achievement—Kim Pittaway, Michael de Pencier, and D.B. Scott—with special guest appearances by other winners including James Ireland, Sally Armstrong, Ken Rodmell, Lynn Cunningham, Stephen Trumper, Al Zikovitz, and Paul Jones.

The NMAF is also delighted to announce that Indigenous writer and 2017 nominee in Essays, Alicia Elliott, will deliver a keynote address to the gathering of more than 250 nominated writers, artists, editors, art directors, publishers, and more.

As we celebrate 40 years of achievement in Canadian magazines and honour the outstanding work of the past year, we also acknowledge the strength, excellence, and diversity of Canada’s storytellers, whose creativity and passion are the bedrock of Canadian magazine journalism, today and tomorrow.

Kim Pittaway is the executive director, MFA in Creative Nonfiction, at University of King’s College. A freelancer writer and former editor of Chatelaine, she is an eight-time National Magazine Award nominee and was the 2016 recipient of the Foundation Award for Outstanding Achievement.

Michael de Pencier was the founding president of the National Magazine Awards Foundation in 1977, and was publisher of Toronto Life from 1971 until 2002. He founded Key Publishers, which published Canadian Geographic, Quill and Quire, Where Magazine, Fashion Magazine, Gardening Life, Canadian Business, and many other titles. In 1991 he was the recipient of the Foundation Award for Outstanding Achievement.

D.B. Scott is the president of Impresa Communications Ltd, publisher of the Canadian Magazines blog. He is a magazine and media consultant, writer, teacher, market researcher, publisher, and editor. He served on the NMAF Board of Directors for eight years and was president in 1990. In 2011 he was the recipient of the Foundation Award for Outstanding Achievement.

The 40th anniversary National Magazine Awards gala is Friday, May 26, 2017, at the Arcadian Court in Toronto. View all nominees.


The NMAF will welcome Canada’s top writers, artists, editors, art directors, publishers and other creators to the 40th anniversary National Magazine Awards gala. Gold, Silver and Honourable Mention awards will be announced at the Arcadian Court in Toronto on May 26. Tickets are on sale at

A limited number of tickets for nominated freelancers are available at the discount rate of $35, thanks to the support of our Table Patrons, including Access Copyright, Alberta Magazine Publishers Association, Bookmark, Canadian Media Guild, Canadian Writers Group, CDS Global,, Ryerson University School of Journalism, and University of King’s College School of Journalism.

Gold winners in writing and visual awards categories receive a cash prize of $1000. Silver winners receive an awards certificate. All other finalists receive Honourable Mention. View all nominees.


Since its debut in 1990, the Foundation Award for Outstanding Achievement has been the highest individual honour bestowed upon members of Canada’s magazine community. The award recognizes an individual’s innovation and creativity through contributions to the magazine industry. The NMAF accepts submissions for the Foundation Award for Outstanding Achievement throughout the year, with an annual deadline of March 1. The award is open to circulation experts, editors, marketing, sales and promotion professionals, publishers, creators, designers, production managers; in short, to everyone in the industry. It cannot be given posthumously.

Previous winners include:

2016 Kim Pittaway

2007 Neville Gilfoy

1998 Robert Fulford

2015 Michael Fox

2006 John Macfarlane 

1997 James Ireland 

2014 Kim Jernigan

2005 Paul Jones

1996 Catherine Keachie

2013 Stephen Trumper

2004 Stephen Osborne

1995 Jean Paré

2012 Heather Robertson

2003 Sally Armstrong

1994 Don Obe

2011 D.B. Scott

2002 Al Zikovitz

1993 Barbara Moon

2010 Terry Sellwood

2001 Ken Rodmell

1992 Lloyd Hodgkinson

2009 Cynthia Brouse

2000 Peter C. Newman

1991 Michael de Pencier

2008 Charles Oberdorf

1999 Lynn Cunningham

1990 Prue Hemelrijk

This year’s recipient will be Penny Caldwell, publisher and vice-president of Cottage Life Media.

A charitable foundation, the NMAF’s mandate is to recognize and promote excellence in content creation of Canadian print and digital publications through an annual program of awards and national publicity efforts.

The Foundation produces two distinct and bilingual award programs: the National Magazine Awards and the Digital Publishing Awards. Throughout the year, the Foundation undertakes various group marketing initiatives and professional development events.

For further information: For more information about the National Magazine Awards, please contact: Émilie Pontbriand, Communications Manager, 416.939.6200,,



Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More