You can use your smart phone to browse stories in the comfort of your hand. Simply browse this site on your smart phone.

    Using an RSS Reader you can access most recent stories and other feeds posted on this network.

    SNetwork Recent Stories

NTI statement on federal election results

by ahnationtalk on October 23, 201977 Views

(October 23, 2019) President Aluki Kotierk, on behalf of Nunavut Inuit, congratulates Mumilaaq Qaqqaq on her election as Member of Parliament for Nunavut and Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and the Liberal party on their election to another term.

To MP-elect Qaqqaq, President Kotierk commented, “As you embark on your new role, we are committed to working with you to achieve the full implementation of the Nunavut Agreement. It was young Inuit, a generation ago, whom led the charge to negotiate and settle the Nunavut Agreement. We have much more work to fully realize the Nunavut dream. I am confident that your understanding of the issues and concerns important to Inuit, and our willingness and ability to work together will serve us all well.”

On the re-election of the Liberal party Kotierk added, “Inuit have made progress through the Inuit-Crown Partnership Committee (ICPC) which was exceptionally successful and delivered on its objective to close the unacceptable social and economic inequities faced by Inuit. I want to congratulate Prime Minister-elect Justin Trudeau and the Liberal party in their re-election to another term as government. We are eager to continue to work in partnership to respect and advance Inuit rights and interests”.

Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated’s (NTI) Niriuttaarijat strategic priorities (2018-2021) are Inuit employment, a Nunavut education system reflective of Inuit culture, Inuktut as the primary working language of the territory, closing the infrastructure gap and full implementation of Article 32 of the Nunavut Agreement.

NTI coordinates and manages Inuit responsibilities set out in the Nunavut Agreement and ensures that the federal and territorial governments fulfill their obligations. “I thank the other three candidates for the Nunavut riding, Leona Aglukkaq, Megan Pizzo-Lyall and Roy Douglas for their commitment to Nunavut Inuit and the democratic process,” said Kotierk.

For further information:

Malaya Mikijuk

Assistant Director of Communications

Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated

Tel: 867-975-4907



Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More