You can use your smart phone to browse stories in the comfort of your hand. Simply browse this site on your smart phone.

    Using an RSS Reader you can access most recent stories and other feeds posted on this network.

    SNetwork Recent Stories

Nunavut participates in National Public Alert test

by ahnationtalk on May 1, 2019145 Views

The Department of Community and Government Services, Emergency Management Division, informs Nunavummiut that a test of the national Alert Ready System will take place simultaneously across all Nunavut time zones on May 8, 2019.

The test will take place at 1:55 p.m. EST, 12:55 p.m. CST and 11:55 a.m. MST, via cellular, TV and radio.

The test alert message reads: “This is a test. No action required. For more information: http://www.cgs.gov.nu.ca/npas”.
CBC Radio, TV, as well as local weather channels will be displaying the alert. Cellular message alerts will be received by mobile phones connected to an LTE network with settings adjusted to receive test messages.

Cellular device compatibility, connection to an LTE network, cell tower availability and coverage, device software and settings will impact cellular reception of the test message. Transmission of the test will only affect distribution channels (TV, radio, mobile), for approximately 30 seconds.

The Alert Ready National System is designed to deliver critical and potentially lifesaving alerts to Canadians and educates the public on what an emergency alert will look like in the event of a life-threatening situation. Ongoing testing ensures the system works as intended and identifies areas that need adjustments.

Nunavummiut can obtain more information at http://www.cgs.gov.nu.ca/npas.

###

Media Contact:

Nasra Esak
Communications Specialist
Community and Government Services
867- 975-5342
nesak@gov.nu.ca

NT5

Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More

CLOSE
CLOSE