NWAC Recognizes the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal Winners

HDownload Audio

by mmnationtalk on December 19, 20122342 Views

NWAC Recognizes the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal Winners

Ottawa, ON (December18, 2012) – The Native Women’s Association of Canada is proud to recognize the achievement of thirty-three Aboriginal women who have made a life-time practice out of service.

This year, 2012, marks the 60th anniversary of Queen Elizabeth II’s accession to the Throne. It is a title that designates both a position and a commitment, a commitment to serve. To commemorate this event, the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal is being awarded to outstanding men and women from Canada.

The women nominated through the Native Women’s Association of Canada have chosen a path in life that is under-represented, but greatly needed. The recipients of this award have been nominated by their peers for service to improve the lives of Aboriginal people. These women have served their families, their communities, and their nations. Their contributions range from bringing national attention to issues affecting Aboriginal women and girls to contributing valuable time and effort to enhance their community’s life on a day-to-day basis.

The Native Women’s Association of Canada adds their thanks to their recognition. Please join with us in recognizing the following thirty-three women for their many contributions.


Ellen Gabriel
Oka, QC

Ruth Kidder
Peace River, AB

Noreen Grace McAteer
Fort Vermillion, AB

Cathy Halbot
Corner Brook, NL

Brenda Hynes White
Benoits Cove, NL

Doreen Swyers
Stephenville, NL

Agnes Potter
Bear River, NS

Dorothy Wynne
Toronto, ON

Corrine Nabigon
Thunder Bay, ON

Agnes Bachmann
Dryden, ON

Elize Hartley
Hamilton, ON

Dawn Memee Lavell-Harvard
Baltimore, ON

Judith Clark
Lennox Island, PEI

Julie Pellissier Lush
South Winsloe, PE

Thirly Levi
Mount Stewart, PE

Josephine Augustine
Elsipogtog First Nation, NB

Josephine Mandamin
Thunder Bay, ON

Judy Hughes
Yorkton, SK

Karon Shmon
Saskatoon, SK

Julie Pitzel
Prince Albert, SK

Maurina Beadle
Trenton, NS

Ingrid Johnson
Whitehorse, YT

Amanda Mudry
Whitehorse, YT

Shirley Adamson
Whitehorse, YT

Cherish Lepine
Whitehorse, YT

Greta Baetz
Yellowknife, NT

Laura Whiteman
Killaly, SK

Janice Dick Billy, PhD
Chase, BC

The Honourable Marion Buller Bennett
Port Coquitlam, BC

Linda Head

Leask, SK

Sylvia Popowich
Yorkton, SK

Darlene Shackelly
North Vancouver, BC

Erica Samms Hurley
Mount Mariah, NL

In addition to the thirty-three women nominated by the Native Women’s Association of Canada, the former president, Jeannette Corbiere Lavell, and the current president, Michèle Audette, were also awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal.

Congratulations to all recipients!

– 30 –

 For more information, contact:

Claudette Dumont-Smith
Executive Director
Toll Free: 1 800 461-4043
Tel. : 613 722-3033,  extension 223
Email : cdumontsmith@nwac.ca


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More