OPP Accolade Awards recognize exceptional performance and achievement among its members

by NationTalk on September 8, 20094491 Views

Orillia, ON, Sept. 8 – The Ontario Provincial Police will be recognizing some of its most distinguished members at its annual Accolade Awards on Tuesday, September 8, 2009.Accolade Awards are presented to both uniform and civilian OPP members who make outstanding and meaningful contributions to the organization.

The awards program consists of various special team and individual categories. Nominations are first submitted by colleagues, and are then narrowed down by a distinguished panel of community members and OPP staff. In the end, 13 remarkable individuals/teams are selected for their outstanding achievements.

The media are invited to attend a special Accolade Awards presentation ceremony being held in the auditorium at OPP General Headquarters, 777 Memorial Avenue, Orillia on Tuesday, September 8, 2009.

The Awards Ceremony begins at 1:30 p. m. and the media will have an opportunity to meet the winners following the event.

This year’s Accolade winners are:

Officer of the Year
Sergeant S.E. (Scott) Taylor (NER)

Civilian of the Year
Ms. D.A. (Deborah) Percival (CDB)

Auxiliary Liaison Officer of the Year
Provincial Constable D.G. (David) Hackney (WR)

Jim Potts Award
Provincial Constable M.M. (Monty) Kohoko (WR)

Valuing & Supporting People
Staff Sergeant M.G. (Mike) Demeules (NER)

Enforcement / H.E.T. (Highway Enforcement Team) (HSD)

Investigation / Project Eliminator – See names below

Innovation & Creativity / Orillia Civil Remedies Act Investigation (CR) – (See names below)

Staff Sergeant S.R. (Rod) Case (CPB)

Team Achievement / North of 50 Cops and Kids Youth Program (APB) – (See names below)

Community Service
Staff Sergeant R.C. (Rob) McDonald (NER)

Humanitarian Excellence
Ms. C.A. (Catherine) King (PPA – CDB)

Partnership / Missing Persons & Unidentified Bodies Unit “Resolve Initiative” – (See names below)

Highway Enforcement Team (HET)

Provincial Constable D.J. (Dan) Briggs
HSD Impoundment, Burlington

Provincial Constable R.G. (Greg) Clee
HSD Aurora

Provincial Constable M.B. (Martin) Connell
HSD Toronto

Provincial Constable M.A. (Mike) Di Pasquale
HSD Aurora

Provincial Constable M.B. (Mike) Elchyshyn
HSD 407 Detachment

Sergeant D.C. (Doug) Fenske
Traffic Supervisor / GTR Traffic

Provincial Constable S.J. (Sara) Havekes
HSD Cambridge

Provincial Constable S.H. (Steve) Heinz
HSD Port Credit

Provincial Constable T.J. (Tim) Leithead
HSD Niagara

Provincial Constable I.C. (Ian) Michel
HSD Traffic & Marine / HSD Regional Headquarters

Provincial Constable M.A. (Marilyn) Reynolds
Commercial Motor Vehicles Unit (HSD)

Provincial Constable D.E. (Dan) Schaefer
HSD Burlington

Provincial Constable J.M. (Janet) Scholes
HSD Traffic & Marine

Provincial Constable H.W. (Bill) Terc
HSD Niagara

Provincial Constable S.R. (Steven) Wolf
HSD Cambridge

Project Eliminator

Detective Constable D.H. (Doug) Bradley
Kirkland Lake Detachment

Detective Constable Y.D. (Yvan) Godin
Kirkland Lake Detachment

Provincial Constable H.B. (Bruce) Keefe
Lambton Group (Petrolia) Detachment

Detective Staff Sergeant M.J. (Mike) Pothier
Technical Operations Unit

Detective Inspector M.A. (Mark) Pritchard
Criminal Investigation Branch, North Bay

Provincial Constable M.P. (Michael) Walton
Nottawasaga Detachment (CR)

Staff Sergeant R.A. (Richard) Witty
Detachment Commander South Porcupine Detachment

Orillia Civil Remedies Act Investigation

Detective Staff Sergeant J.A. (Jamie) Ciotka
Crime Prevention & Investigation

Detective Sergeant C.A. (Colleen) McCormick
Crime Prevention & Investigation

Provincial Constable C.J. (Coyer) Yateman
Orillia Detachment

Provincial Constable M.J. (Mairi) Young
Orillia Detachment

North of 50 Cops and Kids Youth Program

Mr. N. (Nicholas) Keays
First Nations Programs

Provincial Constable A.L. (Athena) Lacarte
Native Awareness Training

Ms. J. (Jennifer) Milroy
First Nations Programs

Sergeant J.A. (Jeffery) Simpkins
First Nations Programs

Sergeant M.R. (Marty) Singleton

Missing Persons and Unidentified Bodies Unit (MPUB) (Resolve Initiative)

Mr. J. (Jeff) Arnold
Office of the Chief Coroner

Detective Constable S.M. (Sharon) Hanlon
Child Sexual Exploitation Section

Ms. T. (Tanya) Hatton
Office of the Chief Coroner

Sergeant N.S. (Scott) Johnston
CBAS Units

Staff Sergeant C.B. (Carole) Lafleur
ViCLAS Unit, Behavioural Sciences Section

Dr. K. (Kathy) McKague
Office of the Chief Coroner

Mr. D.G. (Don) Reid
Sex Offender Registry, Behavioural Sciences Section

Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More