You can use your smart phone to browse stories in the comfort of your hand. Simply browse this site on your smart phone.

    Using an RSS Reader you can access most recent stories and other feeds posted on this network.

    SNetwork Recent Stories

Presentation of Commemorative War of 1812 Medal and Banner to First Nations and Métis Communities

by aanationtalk on October 24, 2012516 Views

October 24, 2012

Governor General to Present First Nations and Métis Communities with Commemorative War of 1812 Medal and Banner

Ottawa—His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General and Commander-in-Chief of Canada, will preside over the War of 1812 National Recognition Ceremony for 48 First Nations and Métis communities with a heritage link to the War of 1812, on Thursday, October 25, 2012, at 10 a.m., in the Rideau Hall Ballroom. On this occasion, His Excellency, accompanied by the Right Honourable Stephen Harper, Prime Minister of Canada, will present each community with a Commemorative War of 1812 medal and banner.

“The diverse Aboriginal warriors and British and French-speaking soldiers and militias who fought alongside one another in the War of 1812 remind us that Canada is our common ground, and that we are stronger when we work together,” said the Governor General. “I am looking forward to commemorating the essential contributions of First Nations and Métis communities to this important chapter in our history.”

This recognition ceremony will help to mark the 200th Anniversary of the War of 1812, an important milestone in the lead-up to the 150th anniversary of Canada’s Confederation, in 2017. The list of the communities being recognized at this ceremony is enclosed.

More information on events and activities commemorating the 200th Anniversary of the War of 1812 is available at

– 30 – 

Members of the media who wish to cover this ceremony must be accredited with the Parliamentary Press Gallery. For more information, please contact Mr. Terry Guillon, Chief of the Canadian Parliamentary Press Gallery at 613-992-4511 or

Media information:
Julie Rocheleau
Rideau Hall Press Office

Media Relations
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern
Development Canada

List of First Nations and Métis Communities to be honoured at the War of 1812 National Recognition Ceremony

Abenakis of Odanak
Algonquins of Pikwakanagan
Atikameksheng Anishwawbek
Aundeck-Omni-Kaning First Nation
Batchewana First Nation
Beausoleil First Nation
Birdtail Sioux First Nation
Walpole Island (Bkejwanong First Nation)
Caldwell First Nation
Canupawakpa Dakota First Nation 
Chippewas of Kettle and Stony Point
Chippewas of Nawash First Nation
Chippewas of Rama First Nation
Chippewas of the Thames First Nation
Dakota Plains First Nation
Dakota Tipi First Nation
Garden River First Nation
Georgina Island First Nation
Kitigan Zibi First Nation
Manitoba Métis Federation
M’Chigeeng First Nation
Métis Nation – Saskatchewan
Métis Nation of Ontario
Mississaugas of the New Credit
Mohawk Council of Kahnawake
Mohawks Council of Kanesatake
Mohawks Council of Akwesasne
Mohawk of the Bay of Quinte
Moravian of the Thames First Nation
Munsee-Delaware Nation
Nation huronne-wendat
Nation Métis Québec
Oneida Nation of the Thames
Sagamok Anishnawbek First Nation
Saugeen First Nation
Serpent River First Nation
Sheguiandah First Nation
Sheshegwaning First Nation
Sioux Valley Dakota Nation
Six Nations of the Grand River Elected Council
Haudenosaunee Confederacy
Standing Buffalo Dakota Band #78
Thessalon First Nation
Wahpeton Dakota First Nation
Whitecap Dakaota First Nation
Whitefish River First Nation
Zhiibaahaasing First Nation


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More