Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal Recipients Announced

by pnationtalk on April 3, 2019260 Views

April 3, 2019

Today the recipients of the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal were announced by Lieutenant Governor W. Thomas Molloy.  The recipients will be presented this prestigious medal on April 9, 2019, at a ceremony held in their honour during National Volunteer Week.

“The Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal allows us to acknowledge our outstanding citizens who have made extraordinary contributions through their volunteer efforts,” Molloy said.  “Saskatchewan is home to numerous capable volunteers without whom many programs and initiatives would not be possible.  These impressive recipients exemplify generosity and I congratulate each of them on this well-deserved honour.”

The recipients of the 2018 Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal are:

  • Christine Boyczuk, Moose Jaw
  • Ben Buhler, Osler
  • David Burke, Kindersley
  • Janet Caldwell, Meadow Lake
  • Nelson Eng, Regina
  • The Reverend Alvin Hingley, Humboldt
  • Syl Kulyk, Saskatoon
  • Ivadelle Kulyk (posthumous), Saskatoon
  • Myrna Nagy, Prince Albert
  • Teena Polle, Prince Albert
  • Edna Poncelet, Grandora
  • Barb Ryan, Regina
  • Mary Walters, Pilot Butte
  • Robert Dumur, Fort Qu’Appelle, 2017 recipient
  • Audrey Heit, Kindersley, 2017 recipient

The Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal was established in 1995 to recognize the extraordinary work done by volunteers across the province.  Since its establishment, the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal has been awarded to 204 deserving individuals.

As a province with many community-based organizations, Saskatchewan has a rich history of people going above and beyond in the efforts to help fellow citizens.  Saskatchewan is home to many volunteers.

Statistics Canada’s latest report on volunteering ranked Saskatchewan as having the highest rate of volunteers in the country.

For more information about the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal or to nominate someone for other Saskatchewan Honours and Awards, visit


For more information, contact:

Jamie Fischer
Intergovernmental Affairs
Phone: 306-787-5174


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More