Statement by the Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, on the Announcement of the Laureates of the 2013 Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards

by aanationtalk on April 10, 2013476 Views

Ottawa, April 10, 2013 – Day after day, our artists provide Canadians with unforgettable artistic experiences. These talented creators and their works deepen our appreciation of the arts and help strengthen our communities and our economy.

For more than twenty years, the annual Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards have recognized the Canadian artists and arts volunteers whose achievements have inspired us and enriched the cultural life of our nation.

On behalf of Prime Minister Stephen Harper and the Government of Canada, I would like to congratulate those receiving Lifetime Artistic Achievement Awards this year: Andrew Dawes, Daniel Lanois, Jean Pierre Lefebvre, Viola Léger, Menaka Thakkar and Eric Peterson. I also congratulate Jean Pierre Desrosier, recipient of the 2013 Ramon John Hnatyshyn Award for Voluntarism in the Performing Arts, and Sarah Polley, winner of the National Arts Centre Award. Each laureate’s contribution to our cultural landscape has earned the deep admiration of Canadians.

I would also like to thank the Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards Foundation and the National Arts Centre for their work in honouring outstanding Canadian talent through these prestigious awards.

For more information (media only), please contact:

Sébastien Gariépy
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
and Official Languages


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More