TBRHSC – Health Sciences Centre Welcomes New Board Directors

by pmnationtalk on November 14, 2017239 Views

Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre Board Chair Nadine Doucette and President and CEO Jean Bartkowiak are pleased to announce the appointment of new members to the Board of Directors. All were appointed on November 1, 2017.

Michael Hardy is the Executive Director of Anishnawbe Mushkiki and has extensive experience in Indigenous health care administration.

Joy Wakefield works as a Bilingual Hybrid Staff Lawyer for Legal Aid Ontario in Thunder Bay. She offers advanced knowledge of law, business management, human resources management, and accounting.

Gordon Wickham is the President of Wickham Consulting and offers unique expertise in Project Management, Construction Management, Structural Engineering and Cost Consulting services.

“Ours is a skills-based Board of Directors,” explained Doucette. “Each new member contributes to our overall effectiveness and supports us to fulfill our governance responsibilities. We are committed to achieving the goals set out in our exciting and innovative Strategic Plan 2020. Our three new Board Directors have the experience and expertise we need. Equally as important, they value health care in our community, believe in the importance of leadership, and have strategic and visionary skills.”

“This is an exciting time for Mr. Hardy, Ms. Wakefield and Mr. Wickham to join the Board,” said Bartkowiak. “We are on track with our innovative Strategic Plan 2020, and continue to tackle patient flow challenges.”

The Hospital’s Board of Directors includes:

  • Nadine Doucette (Chair)
  • John Friday (Treasurer)
  • Michael Hardy
  • Anita Jean
  • Patricia Lang
  • Dick Mannisto (2nd Vice Chair)
  • Matt Simeoni
  • Joy Wakefield
  • Grant Walsh (1st Vice Chair)
  • Gary Whitney
  • Gordon Wickham
  • Eric Zakrewski

The Board includes the following ex-officio Directors:

  • Jean Bartkowiak, President and CEO
  • Dr. Rhonda Crocker Ellacott, Chief Nursing Executive
  • Dr. Gordon Porter, Chief of Staff
  • Dr. Penny Moody-Corbett, Associate Dean, Research, Northern Ontario School of Medicine
  • Dr. Mark Thibert, President, Professional Staff Association

“Board Directors serve as volunteers. It is a demanding, yet highly rewarding commitment, and I am grateful to those who choose to serve in this way,” said Doucette.


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More