Twenty-Nine BC Community Achievers Honoured with Awards

by pmnationtalk on April 30, 2018343 Views

April 27, 2018

VICTORIA – Twenty-nine British Columbians were honoured today at the fifteenth annual British Columbia Community Achievement Awards’ presentation ceremony held at Government House in Victoria.

The Honourable Janet Austin, OBC, Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia along with BC Achievement Foundation Board members, Robert Louie, OC and Christopher Gaze, OBC presented each recipient with a BC Community Achievement Award certificate, medallion and citation. Scott McIntyre, CM, Foundation Chair, hosted the presentation ceremony.

The BC Achievement Foundation Board of Directors’ presented the Mitchell Award at the 2018 ceremony. Named in honour of Keith Mitchell, QC, past Chair of the Foundation and its guiding light for over 13 years, the award recognizes leadership that empowers others to engage. The 2018 Mitchell Award was presented to Kim van der Woerd.

A list of the recipients follows and a brief summary of their achievements can be found on the foundation’s website at: .

The recipients honoured at the 2018 ceremony are:
Kevin Albers, Victoria
Joyce Babula, Gabriola Island
John and Sandra Barth, Burns Lake (2017)
Lolly Bennett, Vancouver
Sukhi Brar, Abbotsford
Margo Dent, Squamish
Chris Gadsden, Chilliwack
Patricia Grue, Stewart
Terri Hanen, Dawson Creek
Shirley Henry, Pemberton
Geraldine Hinton, Victoria
Doug Hopwood, Qualicum Beach
Jag Khosa, Surrey
Jim Lamond, Richmond
Paddy Macleod, West Vancouver
William (Bill) K. Milsom, North Vancouver (2017)
Jo Mitchell, Metchosin
Charles Newton, Granisle
Mary O’Neill, Coquitlam
Jerrilyn Schembri, Tumbler Ridge
Aart Schuurman Hess, Vancouver
Min Sidhu, Vernon
Jeff Swann, Ucluelet
Lisa Tallio, Bella Coola
Kim van der Woerd, West Vancouver
Thomas George Whipps, Lantzville (2017)
Pete Wise, Coldstream
Andy Yu, Vancouver

An independent committee selects the recipients of the British Columbia Community Achievement Awards. The 2018 selection committee members are Mayor Lyn Hall of Prince George, Mayor Josie Osborne of Tofino and past recipients, Garry F. Benson, QC of Kelowna, Karen Gilmore of Vancouver and David Young of Vancouver.

The British Columbia Achievement Foundation is an independent foundation established and endowed by the province of B.C. to celebrate excellence in the arts, humanities, enterprise and community service. Launched in 2003, the awards were the first initiative of the foundation, followed by the BC Creative Achievement Award for Applied Art and Design, the BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction, the BC Creative Achievement Award for First Nations Art, and the BC Indigenous Business Awards.


Cathryn Wilson
BC Achievement Foundation


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More