You can use your smart phone to browse stories in the comfort of your hand. Simply browse this site on your smart phone.

    Using an RSS Reader you can access most recent stories and other feeds posted on this network.

    SNetwork Recent Stories

AB Government: Citizens honoured for improving community safety

by ahnationtalk on November 19, 2020765 Views

Four individuals and three organizations have received 2020 Alberta Community Justice Awards for their efforts to improve safety in their communities.

The 29th annual awards celebrated Albertans who have found ways to prevent crime and promote restorative justice in their cities, towns and neighbourhoods.

“I am honoured to acknowledge the good work of these outstanding individuals who have improved the lives of others and, in turn, made our province an even better place to live and work. I offer my sincere congratulations to this year’s award recipients for their remarkable leadership, collaboration and dedication to community justice.”

Kaycee Madu, Minister of Justice and Solicitor General

This year’s award ceremony took place virtually on Nov. 19. The event was co-hosted by the Government of Alberta and the Lakeshore Regional Police Service.

The awards were presented in four categories: leadership, innovation, community mobilization, and partnerships and collaboration.

2020 Alberta Community Justice Award recipients
Barrhead & Area Regional Crime Coalition (Barrhead)

A partnership between local towns, police services and a crime watch association that takes an active approach to crime prevention through coordinated efforts in education, awareness and reporting of suspicious activities.

Cpl. Echelle Malone (Airdrie)

A corporal with the RCMP who created the Mental Health Addictions Liaison Team program in Airdrie. The team works with community organizations to provide services to people with repeat police interactions who suffer from mental health and addiction challenges.

Debbi Gallant (Lacombe)

President of the Lacombe County Watch Association, which works to bridge the gap between the community and the Lacombe Police Service by encouraging residents to play an active role in local crime prevention.

Rapid Exit from Sexual Exploitation and Trafficking Society (Calgary)

A non-profit organization that provides around-the-clock programming and safe, supportive housing for women who experienced sexual exploitation or sex trafficking.

Ritesh Dalip Narayan (Chestermere)

A councillor for the City of Chestermere, a lecturer at Mount Royal University with an extensive background in criminal justice, and a member of Chestermere’s Police Communication Link, which educates the public about crime prevention strategies.

Const. Roxanne Noss (Peace River)

A constable with the Peace Regional RCMP detachment who focuses on building strong relationships with Indigenous youth and addressing crime prevention in a holistic, community-centred way.

Security Achieved through Functional Environmental Design Council (Calgary)

A non-profit organization of multidisciplinary experts and researchers who advance crime prevention through evidence-based environmental design standards and methods for Alberta’s public and private sectors.

Related information


Media inquiries
Blaise Boehmer
Senior Press Secretary, Justice and Solicitor General


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More