Camosun College: CIBC Entrance Award eases first year for Indigenous Students

Camosun College: CIBC Entrance Award eases first year for Indigenous Students

by ahnationtalk on January 22, 202168 Views

Five first-year Indigenous Students at Camosun College received $5,000 each to help fund their education through the CIBC Entrance Awards for Indigenous Students.

The CIBC Entrance Awards for Indigenous Students Awards are funded annually and, through endowments, allow students to focus on achieving their academic goals and transition into meaningful careers with out the added financial stress.

“CIBC is proud to support the academic pursuits of Indigenous students at Camosun College,” says Jaimie Lickers, VP of Indigenous Banking. “I was honoured to attend Camosun’s virtual awards ceremony to meet the award recipients and to hear their inspiring stories. I have no doubt that these promising young people will be future leaders in their respective fields and their communities. CIBC is thrilled to help these students turn their ambitions into reality.”

One of the recipients is Denae Edgar from the Ditidaht First Nation, located on the west coast of Vancouver Island. She’s in the Human Resource Management & Leadership Post Degree Diploma program. Denae’s long-term goal is to be in a position to help Indigenous people excel in the workforce and to encourage people to find their own success. “I know my education will help me succeed,” says Denae. “My dream job is to work for an Indigenous organization where I can be in a position to inspire others.”

Another recipient is Kit Caudron-Robinson: Kit is Cree/Metis from Driftpile First Nation in northern Alberta. He is in the University Transfer program, focusing on Social Work. Kit was inspired to come to Camosun by his older sister, whom he watched diligently as she graduated with her Law degree, and he saw that education could be the tool to effect change in the world around him.  “I can affect real and positive change in the communities around me by first taking the steps to advance myself and continuing to work hard to achieve my goals,” says Kit. “I have an opportunity to create something and I intend to leave something better for the next generation.”

“The making of these awards was a beautiful act of reconciliation on behalf of CIBC,” says Sandee Mitchell, Program Leader for the Indigenous Family Support Program. “It is clear that they are passionate about supporting Indigenous students and it was great for students to be recognized and supported in this way.”

“I have worked with many of these students to get them started, and to see them flourishing and being recognized for their hard work and commitment to their education just warms the soul,” says Sekwan Wabasca, Indigenous Advisor. “Thank you to CIBC for honouring Indigenous students who are working hard to make their way in the world.”

The other recipients for 2020 were:

Zoe Cameron-Johnson: Zoe is Cree from the Peguis Nation in Manitoba. She is in the Indigenous Studies Diploma program and her long-term goal is to complete a Bachelor of Social Work at UVic. Zoe wants to learn more about what it means to be an Indigenous person working in leadership and serving her community.
Kona Loedden: Kona is a Cree woman from Waterhen Lake First Nation in Saskatchewan. She is in the Indigenous Health Care Assistant program. Kona’s long-term goal is to bring awareness of Indigenous issues to the broader health care system
Devin Sheehan: Devin is Metis and his family is from the Red River area of Manitoba. He is in the Bachelor of Sport & Fitness Leadership program. Devin’s long-term goal is to work in the healthcare field and serve his community.

By contributing to Camosun awards and bursaries, CIBC positively affects students today so that they can build a better tomorrow.

Congratulations to all of the recipients of the CIBC Entrance Awards for Indigenous Students Award.

Media Contacts

Communications Office
Camosun College
[email protected]


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More