Canadians Honoured at Rideau Hall for Exceptional Work in the Field of Canadian History

by ahnationtalk on October 16, 20151281 Views

WINNIPEG, Oct. 16, 2015 – Twenty individuals and organizations will be presented gold medals for their efforts to help Canadians better understand how our past shapes our future. The 20th Governor General’s History Awards will be presented by His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, at Rideau Hall on October 16, 2015.

The Governor General’s History Awards honour exceptional achievements in five areas: teaching, museums, community programming, scholarly research, and popular media. In addition, three youth awards are presented, as well as the SEVEC History Award.

“The Governor General’s History Awards celebrate the exemplary efforts of people working to preserve and promote Canadian history,” says Janet Walker, President and CEO of Canada’s History, which administers the awards. “Their efforts educate us, entertain us, and inspire us to greater futures through learning about our past.”

This year’s award winners include three cultural institutions and a university for a collaborative exhibition on an ancient First Nations village in British Columbia; a teacher who brings the past to life for his students though augmented reality and game technology; and well-known Canadian author Lawrence Hill.

A complete list of winners is attached.

About the Governor General’s History Awards
The Governor General’s History Awards were first established in 1996 to recognize excellence in teaching Canadian history. In partnership with Canada’s leading national history organizations, including the Canadian Historical Association, the Canadian Museums Association, Historica Canada and SEVEC, Canada’s History has worked to expand the awards to recognize the many different ways history is taught, communicated and celebrated by Canadians. The Governor General’s History Awards now provide an annual opportunity to bring together museums, community organizations, writers, historians, students, teachers and media producers to celebrate Canadian history and to learn from one another.

About Canada’s History
Canada’s History is a national charitable organization whose mission is to promote greater popular interest in Canadian history, principally through its publishing, education, and recognition programs. In addition to administering the Governor General’s History Awards and publishing Canada’s History magazine (formerly The Beaver) and Kayak: Canada’s History Magazine for Kids, Canada’s History produces a number of educational and online programs to encourage a Canada where people are deeply engaged in connecting with their shared past.


The Governor General’s History Awards for Excellence in Teaching:

  • Craig Brumwell – Kitsilano Secondary School, Vancouver, British Columbia
  • Shashi Shergill– Connect Charter School, Calgary, Alberta
  • Kim Sadowsky – Thom Collegiate, Regina, Saskatchewan
  • Jennifer Janzen – The University of Winnipeg Collegiate, Winnipeg, Manitoba
  • Kathryn Whitfield – Northview Heights Secondary School, Toronto, Ontario
  • Yoland Bouchard, Collège Mont Notre-Dame, Sherbrooke, Quebec

The Governor General’s History Award for Excellence in Museums: History Alive!:

  • c̓əsnaʔəm, the city before the city, the Musqueam Indian Band, the Museum of Anthropology at the University of British Columbia, the Museum of Vancouver, and the University of Waterloo

The Governor General’s History Awards for Excellence in Community Programming:

  • Coyote Flats Pioneer Village, Coyote Flats Oral History Project, Picture Butte, Alberta
  • Musée de la Gaspésie, Tout un héritage, Gaspé, Quebec

The Governor General’s History Award for Scholarly Research (Sir John A. Macdonald Prize):

  • Jean Barman, French Canadians, Furs, and Indigenous Women in the Making of the Pacific Northwest

The Governor General’s History Award for Popular Media (Pierre Berton Award):

  • Lawrence Hill, Hamilton, Ontario

In addition, eight national student awards and the SEVEC History Award will be presented to the following individuals:

Kayak Kids’ Illustrated History Challenge:

  • Claire Sie, Delta, British Columbia
  • Lou Savard, Saint-Jérôme, Quebec

The Government of Canada History Awards for Students:

  • Andrew Yin, Richmond Hill, Ontario
  • Josiane Breton, Sherbrooke, Quebec

Aboriginal Arts & Stories:

  • Mary McPherson, Thunder Bay, Ontario
  • “Nodinamaad” Isaac Narciso Weber, Toronto, Ontario
  • Sunshine O’Donovan, Merritt, British Columbia
  • Shaelyn Johnston, Burnaby, British Columbia

SEVEC History Award:

  • Jacquie Mydynski-Arp, Swan Valley Regional Secondary School,
    Swan River, Manitoba

For further information: Joanna Dawson, Canada’s History Society, 204-988-9300 ext. 225,



Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More