ECE announces inductees to 2021-22 NWT Education Hall of Fame

by ahnationtalk on June 22, 2022107 Views

June 22, 2022

The Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT) department of Education, Culture and Employment (ECE) is pleased to announce the inductees of the 2021 and 2022 Northwest Territories (NWT) Education Hall of Fame.

The GNWT is recognizing eight deserving individuals who have provided exemplary service to education in the territory. Each have made a strong and lasting impression on their colleagues, students and communities across the NWT.

The 2021 inductees are:

  • Frank Galway, Inuvik – Minister’s Choice recipient
  • Pauline Tardiff (Gordon), Aklavik/Fort Smith
  • Ed Lippert, Yellowknife
  • Neil Penney, Dettah

The 2022 inductees are:

  • Adrien Amirault, Yellowknife – Minister’s Choice recipient
  • Deborah Reid, Hay River
  • Josée Clermont, Yellowknife
  • Eugène Roach, Yellowknife

The inductees were nominated by colleagues, students, school boards and community members for the contributions they made to the profession; leadership skills; supporting Indigenizing education; breadth of impact; and contributions to the community.

The 2021-22 inductees are being honoured in a video, which will be a lasting memory that they can share with loved ones and the community. We congratulate them on their accomplishments and thank them for their contribution to Northwest Territories education.


“I would like to congratulate all the inductees to the NWT Education Hall of Fame today. They have made a remarkable impact on our territory’s education system. Reading their biographies made me very proud of our residents and what we can accomplish. I would also like to acknowledge the Minister’s Choice recipients for 2021-22; Frank Galway and Adrien Amirault are an inspiration to others. They should be proud of the work they have done and the dedication they have shown to NWT education. Thank you to all the inductees for the contributions you have made to the territory.”

– R. J. Simpson, Minister of Education, Culture and Employment

Quick facts

  • The Department of Education, Culture and Employment launched the Education Hall of Fame in 2010 to recognize that we all play an important role in supporting the education of our children.
  • The Education Hall of Fame reflects the valuable contributions that people make as educators, Elders, custodians, administrators, volunteers, coaches, students, advocates, sponsors and businesses, etc.

Related links


For media requests, please contact:

Briony Grabke

Manager, Public Relations and Communications

Department of Education, Culture and Employment


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More