First Nations Health Managers Association Announces a Night of Excellence in First Nations Health

by pmnationtalk on November 14, 20172022 Views

For Immediate Release

First Nations Health Managers Association Announces a Night of Excellence in First Nations Health

Toronto, ON (November 15, 2017) – The 2017 Certified First Nations Health Manager (CFNHM) graduation awards ceremonies will take place today at 6:30 PM at the Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, ON. This year the First Nations Health Managers Association (FNHMA) honors our 31 graduates during a formal dinner and reception.

FNHMA President, Patricia Thomson, CFNHM states “The total number of CFNHMs from across Canada has now reached 139, with the 31 graduate names that have been added today!  FNHMA CFNHMs move forward using the tools and support of our organization in contributing to the health of our nations – Congratulations!”

“Our CFNHMs are highly skilled professionals in First Nation health management.  We are very proud of their accomplishments and dedication to First Nation health leadership. Health Managers celebrate and share our inherent knowledge, while maintaining management principles” says Marion Crowe, FNHMA Executive Director.

Each year a member is honored with the FNHMA President’s Award, which recognizes the significant contribution of an individual to the development of the First Nations Health Managers Association.  This year we are happy to announce that Judy Sugar, CFNHM, Health Director from Piapot First Nation, Saskatchewan is the recipient of this prestigious award.  Congratulations Judy!

FNHMA in partnership with the Canadian Foundation for Healthcare Improvement (CFHI) is awarding the 2nd Annual ‘Excellence in Health Leadership Award’, designed to recognize those who have exhibited a sincere and long-term commitment as well as leadership in First Nations health management in Canada.  The award recipient is Janet Gordon, CFNHM from Sioux Lookout First Nation Health Authority where she is the Chief Executive Officer.  Congratulations Janet!

List of the 2017 CFNHMs:

  1. Flora Fiddler – Meadow Lake Tribal Council, Meadow Lake, SK
  2. Marion Mitsuing – Makwa Shgaiehcan First Nation, Meadow Lake, SK
  3. Erica Perkins – Biigtigong Nishnaabeg, Heron Bay, ON
  4. Anita Crate – Keewatin Tribal Council, Thompson, MB
  5. John Spence – Keewatin Tribal Council, Thompson, MB
  6. Deborah Jadis – Abegweit First Nation Mi’kmaq Wellness Centre, Mt. Stewart, PEI
  7. Ann Seymour – Mental Health Commission of Canada, Ottawa, ON
  8. Lena Clearsky – Waywayseecappo Health Centre, Waywayseecappo, MB
  9. Janet Gordon – Sioux Lookout First Nations Health Authority, Sioux Lookout, ON
  10. Norma Jean Saulis – Wolastoqewiyik Healing Lodge, Tobique First Nation, NB
  11. Sherri Thomas – Ginew Wellness Centre, Ginew, MB
  12. Eunice Woodhouse – Little Saskatchewan First Nation, Gypsumville, MB
  13. Eileen Boissoneau – Mattagami First Nation, Gogama, ON
  14. Kimberly Fisher – Chippewas of The Thames, Muncey, ON
  15. Beverly Meguinis – Tsuu Tina Health Centre, Calgary, AB
  16. Clayton Auger – Bigstone Health Holdings Ltd, Wabasca, AB
  17. Shelly Gladue – Bigstone Health Commission, Wabasca, AB
  18. Connie Morin – Kehewin Health Services, Bonnyville, AB
  19. Patricia Whitecalf-Ironstand – Battle River Treaty 6 Health Centre, North Battleford, SK
  20. Sheila Bigsky – Muskowekwan First Nation, Lestock, SK
  21. Patricia Whitehead – Pelican Lake Health Services, Leoville, SK
  22. Cindy McAdam – Agency Chiefs Tribal Council, Spiritwood, SK
  23. Christina Gamble – Witchekan Health Services, Spiritwood, SK
  24. Tracy Bear – Muskoday First Nation, Muskoday, SK
  25. Samantha Bow Nosikye, Bigstone Health Commission, Wabasca, AB
  26. Robin Decontie, Kitigan Zibi Health and Social Services, Kitigan Zibi, QC
  27. Amanda Larocque, Gesgapegiag Health & Community Services, Gesgapegiag, QC
  28. Eniko Neashish, Centre de santé Wemotaci, Wemotaci, QC
  29. Marie-Andrée Basile, Centre de santé Mashtishanitshuap, Ekuanitshit, QC
  30. Malik Kistabish, Centre de santé Pikogan, Pikogan, QC
  31. Nadine Rousselot, CSSSPNQL, Wendake, QC

FNHMA congratulates all our new CFNHMs and award recipients!

For more information, or to schedule an interview, please contact Marion Crowe, Executive Director.

Contact: Marion Crowe, CFNHM, CAFM
Executive Director
Cell: (613) 697-9690



Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More