Minister Congratulates ECMA Award Winners

Minister Congratulates ECMA Award Winners

by NationTalk on March 2, 20091232 Views

Tourism, Culture and Recreation
March 2, 2009

The Honourable Clyde Jackman, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Recreation, today congratulated Newfoundland and Labrador musicians and industry professionals honoured yesterday (Sunday, March 1) at East Coast Music Association (ECMA) awards events in Corner Brook.”Musicians and industry professionals from this province did us proud over the weekend,” said Minister Jackman. “The four-day ECMA Awards, Festival and Conference was filled with opportunities for musicians to network with industry professionals and showcase their talents. It was an exceptional event and I congratulate our award winners, ECMA staff, and the host Corner Brook ECMA Event Committee for making it an event to remember.”

Hey Rosetta! was a big winner, taking home awards for Recording of the Year, Group Recording of the Year and Alternative Recording of the Year. Other local honourees were: guitarist Duane Andrews for Instrumental Recording of the Year; Tara Oram for Country Recording of the Year; The Flummies for Aboriginal Recording of the Year; and, Rik Barron for Children’s Recording of the Year. The late Dick Nolan was also honoured with the Dr. Helen Creighton Lifetime Achievement Award. Meanwhile, during the ECMA Industry Awards brunch earlier in the day, Ray Walsh of Bay de Verde received a Stompin’ Tom Lifetime Achievement Award, and Jud Haynes was honoured for designing the official website for musician Damhnait Doyle,, which was named Website of the Year.

In addition, each year, the ECMA board of directors chooses an individual, group or organization which has made a significant impact on the music industry in Atlantic Canada. This year’s FACTOR Industry Builder Award was presented to long-time Corner Brook musician Lloyd Bartlett. The ECMA board also presented musician Sandy Morris with the Musician’s Achievement Award, which recognizes a sideman/session musician who exemplifies professionalism and quality musicianship on recordings and/or live performances of East Coast music. Finally, the Atlantic Lottery Volunteer of the Year Award, chosen by the local event committee, was presented to Tina Dolter, who chaired the ECMA Arts and Cultural Linkages Committee (ACLC). A first of its kind for the East Coast Music Association, the ACLC put a true Corner Brook cultural feel on this year’s East Coast Music Awards, Festival and Conference.

The Government of Newfoundland and Labrador provided a total of $275,000 in support of the 2009 ECMAs, including funding for organizational support, cultural export programs, and national promotion. This is the largest amount of any Provincial Government support provided to the event in its 20-year history.

– 30 –

Media contact:

Heather May
Director of Communications
Department of Tourism, Culture and Recreation
709-729-0928, 697-5061
[email protected]

2009 03 02

Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More