Minister Davis Recognizes Recipients of Annual Water Operator Awards

Minister Davis Recognizes Recipients of Annual Water Operator Awards

by ahnationtalk on June 10, 202117 Views

June 10, 2021

The following statement was read today by the Honourable Bernard Davis, Minister of Environment and Climate Change:

Mr. Speaker, I take this opportunity today to announce the 2021 recipients of the Water Operator of the Year Awards which recognize the outstanding dedication of community drinking water system operators.

This year’s recipient of the Small System Operator of the Year Award is Henry Jacque with the Makkovik Inuit Community Government. Mr. Jacque is a 29 year employee and a Class 2 Water Distribution Certified Operator.

The Operator of the Year for 2021 is Wayne Bishop with the Town of Paradise. Mr. Bishop has been with the town for 11 years and is a Class 2 Water Distribution Operator and Class 3 Wastewater Collection Certified Operator.

Both individuals were recognized in their nominations for tireless dedication to their professions and communities.

Mr. Speaker, we are making significant progress in improving drinking water quality and have reached some very encouraging milestones. For example, the number of long-term boil water advisories that have been in place for more than five years has reached an all-time low. The number of communities with a certified operator, the number of certified operators, and the number of certificates awarded to water system operators in a given year has reached an all-time high.

Mr. Speaker, I ask all members of this House of Assembly to join me in extending our appreciation to Mr. Jacque, Mr. Bishop, and the many system operators who play a central role in the delivery of water services in Newfoundland and Labrador.

Thank you.


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More