NS Government: Platinum Jubilee Medal Design Unveiled, First 70 Recipients Announced

by ahnationtalk on June 2, 2022233 Views

June 2, 2022

Lt.-Gov. Arthur J. LeBlanc announced today, June 2, that the Queen has approved the design of the Platinum Jubilee Medal. Over the coming months, it will be awarded to 5,000 Nova Scotians in recognition of significant contributions and service to the province.

To launch the medal program, which marks the 70th anniversary of the Queen’s accession to the throne, the names of the first 70 recipients have been released. They represent a broad cross-section of Nova Scotians who have contributed to diverse fields and organizations.

“As Her Majesty’s reign embodies the importance of commitment to one’s community, the Platinum Jubilee provides opportunities for Nova Scotians to honour those in our province who have demonstrated an unwavering dedication to family, neighbours and colleagues,” said Lt-Gov. LeBlanc

The medal displays a crowned effigy of the Queen with her Canadian style and title on the front. The back features the shield of arms of Nova Scotia with the Queen’s Royal Cypher and dates of her reign. A pair of mayflowers – the provincial flower – and the Latin phrase “VIVAT REGINA” which means “LONG LIVE THE QUEEN” appear at the base.

“The Platinum Jubilee Medal is a significant honour afforded to Nova Scotians and Canadians making a difference in their communities,” said Premier Tim Houston. “I am pleased that 5,000 deserving Nova Scotians will receive recognition through this award.”

The Government of Nova Scotia established the Queen Elizabeth II’s Platinum Jubilee Medal program in March.

Quick Facts:

  • the Platinum Jubilee is being celebrated throughout the Commonwealth
  • during her reign, the Queen has visited Nova Scotia on five royal tours, the first in 1951
  • at Government House in Halifax in 1959, the Queen announced the appointment of the first French Canadian Governor General, Georges Vanier
  • the inaugural Platinum Jubilee Medal presentation ceremony will be held in July 2022
  • the medal program is modelled on the highly successful Queen Elizabeth II’s Diamond Jubilee Medal, which saw 3,800 Nova Scotians recognized in 2012

Additional Resources:

Information about the medal program and nomination criteria is available at:


The first 70 medal recipients are:

  • Stephen Amirault, Brooklyn, Yarmouth County
  • Mairi Arthur, Dartmouth
  • Dr. Lisa Barrett, Halifax
  • Patrick J. Bates, Sydney
  • Sergeant Barry Best, Sydney
  • Annette Boucher, Fall River
  • Ron Bourgeois, Cheticamp
  • Barbara Butler, Mahone Bay
  • Master Cpl. Taylor Virginia Rose Butler, Dartmouth
  • Colleen Carrey, Dartmouth
  • Staff-Sgt. Monier Chediac, Beaverbank
  • Lee Cohen, Halifax
  • Adrien B. Comeau, Saulnierville
  • Dr. Jeannette Comeau, Halifax
  • Marlene Companion, Bedford
  • Cpl. David John Douglas Cross, Brookfield
  • Prof. Sultan Darvesh, Halifax
  • Father Jean-Baptiste Decoste, Arichat
  • Michael R. Denny, Eskasoni
  • Irene d’Entremont, Dayton
  • Kathryn Dumke, Bridgewater
  • Gordon S. Earle, Halifax
  • Jim and Judie Edgar, Dartmouth
  • Wendell Eisener, Italy Cross
  • Saeed El-Darahali, Dartmouth
  • Megan Element, Dartmouth
  • Susan Fitzgerald, Halifax
  • Mayann E. Francis, Halifax
  • Col. Ian Fraser, River John
  • Master Sailor Seth Freethy, Lower Sackville
  • Joella Foulds, Southside Boularderie
  • Lou Gannon, Westphal
  • Heather Gass, Halifax
  • Tareq Hadhad, Antigonish
  • Sgt. Alina Hall, Shubenacadie
  • Matt Hunter, Harmony
  • Cpl. Adam Jackson, Lower Sackville
  • Jessie Jollymore, Dartmouth
  • Don Julien, Truro
  • Dr. Judy Kazimirski, Newport
  • Alyson Lamb, Halifax
  • Chief Supt. Chris Leather, Bedford
  • Capt. Ralph Thomas MacDonald, Waverley
  • Bruce MacKinnon, Halifax
  • Dr. Heather Mackinnon, Chester
  • Janet MacKinnon, Bridgewater
  • Sailor 1st Class Malachi Malabre, Halifax
  • Cathy Mason, Stellarton
  • Dr. Shelly McNeil, Halifax
  • Connie Miller, Upper Kennetcook
  • Chief Warrant Officer (Ret’d) Keith Mitchell, Tupper Lake
  • Jane Nicholson, Annapolis Royal
  • Chief Terry Paul, Membertou
  • Beth Peterkin, Parrsboro
  • Juanita Peters, Dartmouth
  • Patsy Rawding, Halifax
  • Sgt. Sean Reynolds, Abercrombie, Pictou County
  • Marie-Claude Rioux, Eastern Passage
  • Sailor 1st Class Matthew Joseph Ryan, Prospect Bay
  • Master Sailor MacKenzie Simpson, Enfield
  • Dr. Ronald Stewart, Boularderie East
  • Dr. Robert Strang, Fall River
  • Hanspeter Stutz, Grand Pré
  • Hope Swinimer, Seaforth
  • Alan Syliboy, Millbrook First Nation
  • Jonathan Veale, Halifax
  • Tara Walsh, Hammonds Plains
  • Jeremy Webb, Halifax
  • Tuma Young, Malagawatch/Eskasoni
  • George Zwaagstra, Halifax


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More