FREDERICTON (GNB) – Changes to the cabinet were announced today resulting in a significant movement among the leadership team governing the province. Premier Brian Gallant made the announcement after a cabinet meeting in Fredericton.

Cathy Rogers, elected in 2014, will become New Brunswick’s first female minister of Finance. Rogers will immediately begin working on the government’s next budget, due in early 2017. She will also serve as minister responsible for literacy.

Rick Doucet, first elected in 2003, will become government house leader where he will be charged with directing the government’s agenda through the legislative assembly. Doucet will also serve as minister of Agriculture, Aquaculture and Fisheries and minister of Energy and Resource Development.

“Cathy and Rick are taking on their important roles with my full confidence as they have both shown the ability to advance the interests of our province,” said Gallant. “It is clear that this is a team that will deliver on New Brunswick’s priorities of jobs, education and health care.”

In addition, Miramichi Bay-Neguac MLA Lisa Harris and Charlotte-Campobello MLA John Ames are joining the cabinet. Caraquet MLA Hédard Albert is retiring from politics at the next election and has stepped down as government house leader.

“As former deputy mayors of their respective communities, there is no doubt that Lisa and John are close to the people,” said Gallant. “Lisa and John represent a new kind of politics that prioritizes regular citizen engagement and I am sure they will represent New Brunswickers as well as they have represented their constituents.”

The list of ministers is as follows:

  • Brian Gallant, premier, president of the Executive Council, minister responsible for the Education and New Economy Fund, minister responsible for Innovation, minister responsible for the Premier’s Council on the Status of Disabled Persons, minister responsible for Rural Affairs, minister responsible for Women’s Equality;
  • Stephen Horsman, deputy premier, minister of Families and Children, who will also act as liaison for military affairs;
  • Denis Landry, minister of Justice and Public Safety;
  • Donald Arseneault, minister of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour, minister responsible for Intergovernmental Affairs, minister responsible for Official Languages, minister responsible for the Regional Development Corporation;
  • Rick Doucet, minister of Agriculture, Aquaculture and Fisheries, minister of Energy and Resource Development, government house leader;
  • Victor Boudreau, minister of Health, deputy government house leader;
  • Ed Doherty, minister of Service New Brunswick, minister responsible for Aboriginal Affairs, minister responsible for Poverty Reduction and the Economic and Social Inclusion Corporation;
  • Brian Kenny, minister of Education and Early Childhood Development;
  • Bill Fraser, minister of Transportation and Infrastructure, minister responsible for the Northern and Miramichi funds;
  • Roger Melanson, president of the Treasury Board, minister responsible for Trade Policy;
  • Francine Landry, minister of Economic Development, minister responsible for La Francophonie, minister responsible for Opportunities NB;
  • Cathy Rogers, minister of Finance, minister responsible for Literacy;
  • Serge Rousselle, minister of Environment and Local Government, Attorney General;
  • John Ames, minister of Tourism, Heritage and Culture; and
  • Lisa Harris, minister of Seniors and Long-Term Care, minister responsible for Celtic Affairs.