SSHRC-funded researchers appointed to Order of Canada

    You can use your smart phone to browse stories in the comfort of your hand. Simply browse this site on your smart phone.

    Using an RSS Reader you can access most recent stories and other feeds posted on this network.

    SNetwork Recent Stories

SSHRC-funded researchers appointed to Order of Canada

by ahnationtalk on January 17, 2022162 Views

On December 29, 2021, Her Excellency the Right Honourable Mary May Simon, Governor General of Canada, announced the latest appointments to the Order of Canada. We would like to congratulate each of the 135 appointees who have been recognized with this honour, and to acknowledge the SSHRC-funded researchers among this group.

The following SSHRC-funded researchers were appointed as Officers (O.C.) of the Order of Canada:

  • Geoffrey T. Fong, for his research into improved risk messaging on tobacco products, and for his role in reducing the global tobacco epidemic
  • Evelyn L. Forget, for advancing anti-poverty initiatives in Canada and around the world as a leading health economics researcher
  • Frances Henry, for her groundbreaking contributions to the study of racism in contemporary democratic society
  • Helene Polatajko, for significantly advancing the understanding of Developmental Coordination Disorder in children
  • D.R. Fraser Taylor, for his innovative contributions to cartography, and for spearheading the theoretical and practical development of cybercartography
  • Mary Ellen Turpel-Lafond, for her ongoing commitment to improving the child welfare system and supports for Indigenous Peoples in British Columbia

The following SSHRC-funded researchers were appointed as Members (C.M.) of the Order of Canada:

  • Eric Ross Macdonald Haldenby, for his contributions to the advancement of architectural education in Canada, and for his efforts to preserve industrial and mid-century buildings
  • Barry Smit, for his contributions to our understanding of climate change impacts and adaptation, and for his mentorship of the next generation of climate change scientists
  • Jean-Marie Toulouse, for his leadership in the growth of HEC Montréal, and for his pioneering research in the fields of business entrepreneurship

Created in 1967 by Queen Elizabeth II, the Order of Canada recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community, and service to the nation.


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More