Twenty-Three Exceptional Honourees to be Appointed to the Order of Ontario

Twenty-Three Exceptional Honourees to be Appointed to the Order of Ontario

by ahnationtalk on January 30, 2018477 Views

January 29, 2018

The Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario and Chancellor of the Order of Ontario, today announced 23 new appointments to the Order of Ontario, the province’s highest honour.

The 23 new members of the Order of Ontario include:

  • Internationally renowned pediatrician Dr. Upton Allen, whose approaches to treating hospital-borne diseases have prevented the deaths of countless children
  • Comedian Dan Aykroyd, now a successful entrepreneur and philanthropist as well as an accomplished entertainer
  • Retired nursing professor Myrtha Lapierre, who broke barriers for black Francophone nurses in Canada
  • Mental health advocate Dr. Dorothy Cotton, whose recommendations have helped change the way police respond to people with mental health crises
  • Residential school survivor Elder Geraldine Robertson, whose efforts have helped other survivors heal and who educated Canadians on the legacies of colonialism
  • Celebrated science-fiction author Robert J. Sawyer, who has published 23 novels and is a champion of the Canadian fiction industry.

The Order of Ontario recognizes individuals whose exceptional achievement in their field have left a lasting legacy in the province, in Canada and beyond. Order members come from all walks of life, represent diverse professions and have played an important role in shaping our province.

The Lieutenant Governor will bestow the honour to the newest appointees during an investiture ceremony at Queen’s Park on February 27, 2018.

Quick Facts

  • Appointments to the Order of Ontario are made on the recommendation of an independent advisory council based on public nominations.
  • The nomination deadline is March 31 each year. Anyone can nominate a resident or former long-term resident of Ontario for the Order of Ontario.
  • The Order of Ontario was established in 1986, and 2017 marked the 30th anniversary of the first investiture of appointees to the Order.
Background Information

Additional Resources


“I am proud to welcome the 23 newest members of the Order of Ontario. They continue a tradition of excellence, and represent the best of this great province. Their extraordinary achievements have contributed to making Ontario, and the world, a better place for us all.”

The Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell

Lieutenant Governor of Ontario

Media Contacts
Matt Gloyd
Communications Branch


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More